COSA members formed the cancer survivorship group in November 2012 in recognition of the growing importance of survivorship care of people diagnosed with cancer. Our multidisciplinary Group provides a platform for the discussion and ongoing development of survivorship care in Australia. We recognise that quality survivorship care is essential to supporting the well-being of people diagnosed with cancer and their families.

The overarching aim of the COSA Survivorship Group is to advance care and research to improve outcomes for all Australians after cancer treatment.

Survivorship Group objectives include:

  • Represent the needs of the broad range of health professionals involved in delivering care for cancer survivors
  • Provide a forum for education, discussion and exchange of information between health professionals involved in cancer survivorship care
  • Foster research in cancer survivorship
  • Promote and advocate for improved survivorship services and access to care for all Australians living with and beyond cancer
  • Engage stakeholders in the area of cancer survivorship care to ensure a coordinated, national approach to survivorship care in Australia and to facilitate policy development to inform such care

COSA Survivorship Executive Committee

Michael Jefford (Chair) Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, VIC
John Boyages ICON Cancer Centre and ALERT Lymphoedema Program, NSW
Raymond Chan (Deputy Chair) QUT/Princess Alexandra Hospital, QLD
Richard Cohn   Sydney Children's Hospital, NSW
Mahesh Iddawela Alfred Health & Latrobe Regional Hospital, VIC
Bogda Koczwara AM Flinders Centre for Innovation in Cancer, SA
David Joske  Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital, WA
Elysia Thornton-Benko General Practice, NSW 
Janette Vardy The University of Sydney and Concord Cancer Centre, NSW

Co-opted member  

Karolina Lisy

Editor, Survivorship eNews

Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, VIC











Survivorship Group Terms of Reference  - Council approved 12 November 2018