COSA members established the multidisciplinary Adolescent and Young Adults (AYA) Group to address the unique needs of adolescent and young adult patients and their caregivers. The AYA Group has strong links with CanTeen and Cancer Australia and has been leading efforts to improve outcomes for adolescents and young adults with cancer since 2007.

Executive Committee

Chair:  Dr Wayne Nicholls (Queensland Children's Hospital, QLD)
Members: Dr Antoinette Anazodo (Sydney Children's Hospital, NSW)
  Dr Jennifer Chard (Crown Princess Mary Cancer Centre, Westmead, NSW)
  Ms Melissa Jones (Youth Cancer Service SA/NT)
  Jeremy Lewin
  Dr Kylie Mason (Royal Melbourne Hospital, VIC)
  Dr Michael Osborn (Royal Adelaide Hospital, SA)
  A/Prof Marianne Phillips (Perth Children's Hospital, WA)
  Ms Kate Thompson (Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, VIC)

An important aspect of the treatment of AYA’s with cancer is research and clinical trials. Here is the link to the clinical trials registry:

AYA Group Terms of Reference (pdf) - Council approved 29 August 2014